Nominees revealed for sixth annual music awards

We are pleased to announce the nominees for this year’s sixth annual Limelight Magazine Music Awards. Like prior years, the nominating process was completely fan driven, with the exception of “Song of the Year” which was nominated by radio DJs who support the local music scene. We received so many nominations for “Video of the Year” that we were able to break down the category into two separate ones, “Video of the Year” (Solo) and “Video of the Year” (Group). Furthermore, we added one new category: “Young Performer of the Year.”

As to how the nominees were selected, we simply took the top eight artists who received the most nominations by e-mail and placed them in each category. Some bands received as many as 40 nominations. Anyone who won an award in a specific category last year is ineligible to be nominated for that same award this year, unless it’s for new music being released (such as a song, album, or video). Public voting begins today and ends at 11:45 PM on Friday, Feb. 7.

An all-ages awards ceremony will be held at South Shore Music Hall in Quincy, Mass., on Saturday, March 22, 2014, at 7:30 p.m., where the winners will be revealed. Advanced tickets can be purchased online HERE. Tickets will also be available at the door on the day of show.

Like last year, eight artists will be randomly selected from all the nominees and asked to perform at the awards show. Performing at the ceremony does not mean that artist has won an award.

Check out the list of nominees below and be sure to vote in our poll HERE.

Young Performer of the Year

Jessie Chris

Closer Than We Appear

Four Noble Truths

Emily Hodges

Nolan Leite

Esmeree Skye

21st Century Fugitives

 Tribute Band of the Year

All Heart: Tribute to Heart

The American Who Sensation: Tribute to The Who

Beatles for Sale: Tribute to The Beatles

Clock Strikes Ten: Tribute to Cheap Trick

Fire Lake: Tribute to Bob Seger and the Silver Bullet Band

Forever Young: Tribute to Neil Young

Power of Love: Tribute to Huey Lewis & the News

Young Rust: Tribute to Neil Young

Live Act of the Year (complete)

The Aldous Collins Band


Daddie Long Legs

            Patrick DeCoste


Richard James and The Name Changers

A Simple Complex

Weld Square

Female Vocalist of the Year

Susan Cattaneo         

Brianna Grace           

Dorian Havers

Lisa Markovich

Amanda McCarthy   

Ilene Springer

Natalie Turgeon

Eva Walsh

Male Vocalist of the Year

Daniel Byrnes

Jeff Conley

Greg Lato

Joe Merrick

Sean O’Loughlin

Andrew Smith

Jonah Tolchin

Kevin Williams 

Song of the Year

            Dalton and the Sheriffs – “Cheap Guitars”

Shaun England – “Tied to the Tracks”

            Kiley Evans & Joe Merrick – “We’d Be Lying”

The McGunks – “Working On A Hangover”

Christian McNeill & Sea Monsters – “If You Need Some (Come and Get Some)”

Fil Pacino – “Death By Lions”

Jessica Prouty Band – “Set Me Free”

            Brian Sances Band – “Driving Home”

Album of the Year (Group)

Sam Bowen and Blue Cat Groove – Self-Titled

Beyond Blonde – Purple Rose

The Cranks – Orange

Elcodrive – The Long Way Home

For The Love of Sloane – Curses, Spells & Charms

Propergander – Wide Open

21st Century Fugitives – Regret Nothing

            Glenn Yoder & the Western States – Javelina           

Album of the Year (Solo)

Rich Antonelli – Voiceless

Sarah Blacker – Precious Little Things

Lisa Couto – Not Going Under

Julie Dougherty – In This Place

Ian Fitzgerald – No Time To Be Tender

Jamie Lynn Hart – Live At Tupelo

Adam Jenson – Behold the Man

Ashley Jordan – Nothing In Doubt

Hard Rock, Metal, Hardcore Act of the Year

Along Came the Flood

BlackLight SunRise





Red Equals Meltdown

We Stand in Awe 

Country Artist of the Year

Houston Bernard

Country Mile Band

Brianna Grace

Britt Hill

Shanna Jackman

Erin Ollis and the Whiskey Rye Band

Joe Macey

            Jilly Martin

Breakthrough Artist of the Year

Blocks of Seven

Sam Bowen and Blue Cat Groove

Closer Than We Appear

Empire Street

Jesse Hanson

House On Cliff

One Time Mountain

Michael Spaulding 

Video of the Year (Group)

Aurora – “Little Traps”

Blocks of Seven – “I Can’t Take It Anymore”

Centerlink – “Distant Voices”

Mostly Commons – “Let It Go By”

The Devil’s Twins – “Love and War”

Paryah – “Stay Away”

Red Equals Meltdown – “What is Dead May Never Die”

Stay Seventeen – “On My Mind”

Video of the Year (Solo)

Krista Angelucci – “Like You”

Tiffani Dawn – “Fever”

Katlyn Evans – “Royals”

Jamie Lynn Hart – “Down”

Ashley Jordan – “If I Had You”

Jilly Martin – “I’m Getting There”

Jay Psaros – “The Orphan”

Will Evans – “Wishin’ Well”

Singer-Songwriter of the Year

Krista Baroni

Brian Carroll

Jesse Hanson

Adam Jensen

Alastair Moock

Kevin G. Moore

Dietrich Strause

Joe Young

Band of the Year

The Can’t Nots

The Field Effect

Mean Creek

Grace Morrison and the RSO


A Simple Complex

The Ten Foot Polecats

Torn Shorts

5 thoughts on “Nominees revealed for sixth annual music awards”

    1. The nomination process is completely fan driven. If a band didn’t make the ballot that means not enough fans nominated them. The top eight bands who receive the most nominations make the ballot.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s