Nominees revealed for 8th annual music awards

We are excited to announce the nominees for this year’s 8th Annual Limelight Magazine Music Awards. Like previous years, the nominating process was completely fan driven, with the top seven artists who received the most nominations making the ballot for that category. The only exceptions are for “Song of the Year” and “Breakthrough Artist of the Year,” which were nominated by local radio DJs (Gerg Anidem, Michael Bernier, Steve Scarpetti, John Shea and Lori Welch) who support the local music scene.

An all-ages awards ceremony will be held at Spire Center for Performing Arts in Plymouth, Mass., on Saturday, April 16, 2016, at 7 p.m., where the winners will be revealed. Advanced tickets can be purchased online at this link: Tickets will also be available at the door on the day of show. Advanced tickets are encouraged.

Public voting begins today and ends on Friday, March 4 at 11:45 PM.

Like last year, eight artists will be randomly selected from all the nominees and asked to perform at the awards show. Performing at the ceremony does not mean that artist has won an award.

We’d like to acknowledge the generosity of the New England Music Awards, Matthew Neves Music and the Spire Center for sponsoring this event.

If you have any questions, many of them will likely be answered at this link: Please take the time to read this before contacting us.

Check out the list of nominees below and be sure to vote in our poll by clicking HERE. (Please note that while the poll will let you vote as many time as you want, only four votes are counted for each I.P. address).

Young Performer of the Year

Sarah Deanna

Julia James

Brooke Leifer

Aaron Norcross Jr.

Playing With Fire

Gracelyn Rennick

Brittany Tara


Tribute Band of the Year

Heartbreaker – A Tribute to Led Zeppelin

Hell Bent For Metal – A Tribute to Judas Priest

Judas Rising – A Tribute to Judas Priest

LoVeSexy – A Tribute to Prince

Maiden New England – A Tribute to Iron Maiden

Pretendica – A Tribute to The Pretenders & Elastica

Studio Two – A Tribute to The Beatles


Live Artist of the Year

Angry Ginger

Dave Bailin & The Bailouts

The Dust Ruffles

Heavy Necker

Johnny Hoy & The Bluefish

My Mother’s Mustache

The Shana Stack Band


Female Vocalist of the Year

Emily Hodges

Amy Marie

Grace Morrison

Bethany Pierce

Jordan Renzi

Ilene Springer

Anne Stott


Male Vocalist of the Year

Willie J. Laws

Ed Leavitt

Fil Pacino

Rob Pagnano

John Powhida

Jeff Rosen

Michael Spaulding


Album/EP of the Year (Group)

Autumn Above – Blessed You’re Still

Blue Cat Groove – Too Much Talk

Fireking – Double Trouble

Peter Lavender & The Limbo Souls – Sugar

Something Sneaky – Pictures

The Something – Toughen Up

21st Century Fugitives – Losing Time


Metal/Hardcore Act of the Year


Depraved Within

Dim the Lights

Hope Before the Fall

I Guard the Throne

Shred of Salvation

Stangler Needsa Manicure


Debut Album of the Year

Caroline Brennan – Leap

Jets Can’t Land – You Can’t Linger On

The Lincoln Tunnel – Today 2.0

Outlaw in Peru – Outlaw in Peru

Rat Ruckus – Beneath the City

Sparrow Blue – Mabel

Matt York – Boston, Texas


Country Artist of the Year

Darren Bessette Band

Annie Brobst Band

Timmy Brown and Black Diamond

Chelsey Carter

April Cushman Band

Brianna Grace

Martin and Kelly


Breakthrough Artist of the Year

Bad Marriage

Bluelight Bandits

The Dirty Dottys

Christa Gniadek

Hailey Magee

Matthew Neves

Spiritual Rez


Video of the Year (Group)

Cougar Bait – “Booty on the Dance Floor”

Forest Fires – “Like Gold”

Houston Bernard Band – “Yoga Pants”

Nemes – “Everest Isle”

Red Evans – “Baby, It’s Cold Outside”

The Something – “Party Gun”


Video of the Year (Solo Artist)

Suzie Hatton – “F U Money”

Molly Pinto Madigan – “On The Hunt”

Suzanne McNeil – “Sister’s Hands”

Shanna Jackman – “We’ve Got Your Back”

Matthew Neves – “Today Is The Day”

April Renzella – “The Bees”

Andrew Smith – “Steal My Girl”


Album/EP of the Year (Solo Artist)

Sean Coleman – Gravitation

Carissa Johnson – For Now

Terry Kitchen – The Post-American Century

Mary Lou Lord – Backstreet Angels

Molly Pinto Madigan – Wildwood Bride

Amanda McCarthy – AAA

Nick Zaino – Blue Skies and Broken Arrows


Singer/Songwriter of the Year

Jennifer Greer

Nate Leavitt

Suzanne McNeil

MB Padfield

Brian Sances

Michael Spaulding


Song of the Year

The Aldous Collins Band – “Bernadette”

Crooked Coast – “Go Back”

The Dirty Dottys – “Not To Call”

Munk Duane – “Random Acts of Blindness”

95 Hyde – “Guts and Glory”

Suzie Hatton – “Be the One”

Sidewalk Driver – “Everybody Loves My Face”


Band of the Year

Black and Blue Morning

Flight of Fire

Marianne Toilet and the Runs

Monkey Knife Fight

Pop Gun

Sunshine Riot

The Complaints


2 thoughts on “Nominees revealed for 8th annual music awards”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s