Nominees revealed for 7th annual music awards

We are pleased to announce the nominees for this year’s 7th Annual Limelight Magazine Music Awards. Like prior years, the nominating process was completely fan driven, with the exception of “Song of the Year” which was nominated by four radio DJs (Steve Scarpetti, John Shea, Lori Welch and Cat Wilson) who support the local music scene. In addition, the Legend and Unsung Hero awards were selected by the co-owners of Limelight and will be announced at a later date.

Over the past two weeks, we solicited nominations for each category. The top eight artists who received the most nominations were placed in them. Anyone who won an award in a specific category last year is ineligible to be nominated for that same award this year, unless it’s for new music being released (such as a song, album, or video). Public voting begins today and lasts until 11:59 PM on Friday, Feb. 6.

An all-ages awards ceremony will be held at Spire Center for Performing Arts in Plymouth, Mass., on Saturday, March 21, 2015, at 7 p.m., where the winners will be revealed. Advanced tickets can be purchased online HERE. Tickets will also be available at the door on the day of show.

Like last year, eight artists will be randomly selected from all the nominees and asked to perform at the awards show. Performing at the ceremony does not mean that artist has won an award.

We’d like to acknowledge the generosity of the following businesses for sponsoring this year’s awards show: Cannery Music Hall, Carmela’s Restaurant, Mamma Mia’s Restaurant, Rok Pix by Kristen Pierson, and Tiny & Son’s Auto Glass Repair.

If you have any questions, many of them will likely be answered at this link: Please take the time to read this before contacting us.

Check out the list of nominees below and be sure to vote in our poll HERE. (Please note that while the poll will let you vote as many times as you want, only four votes are counted for each I.P. address per day).

Young Performer of the Year
As We Know It
Black Diamonds
Coda Sky
Conundrum Nine
Joey Grieve
Emily Hodges
Aaron Norcross, Jr.

Tribute Band of the Year
Beatles for Sale – Tribute to The Beatles
Bikini Whale – Tribute to B52s
Gun Powder Gelatine: Tribute to Queen
Let It Bleed – Tribute to The Rolling Stones
Pretendica – A Tribute to The Pretenders & Elastica
Stormbringer – Tribute to early Deep Purple
Welcome to the Jungle – Tribute to Guns N Roses
Young Rust – Tribute to Neil Young

Metal Act of the Year
Absense of Despair
All For Blood
Along Came the Flood
False Images
On Your Deathbed
Protean Collective
Without Warning

Country Artist of the Year
Kate Cameron
Matt Casey
Ben Cesare
Brianna Grace
Alec MacGillivray
Katie Perkins
Mariah Rose
Shana Stack Band

New Artist of the Year
Angry Ginger
Cardboard Ox
Cold Engines
Dionysus Park Ranger
The Dust Ruffles
Jones River Band
Shell Shock
Wild Surfaces

Live Act of the Year
The Copacetics
Mindset X
The Quins
Sidewalk Driver
The Sleepeaters
Smith & Weeden
Marianne Toilet and The Runs
21st Century Fugitives

Singer-Songwriter of the Year
Emily Correia
Amy Fairchild
Jeff Gobush
Jake Hill
Leighann Alexandra Hodgkins
Esmeree Skye
Monica Rizzio
Jennifer Teft

Song of the Year
Bim Skala Bim – “Buses, Boats. Plabes, Trains & Taxis”
Crooked Coast – “Loose Tooth”
Christa Gniadek – “You”
Jenna Lotti – “Medicine”
The October Accord – “Better Off Without You”
Hayley Sabella – “February”
Sex Coffee – “What It Takes”
We Own Land – “Life”

Female Vocalist of the Year
Petrina Foley
Jen Kearney
Jenna Lotti
Molly Pinto Madigan
Alissa Musto
Bethany Pierce
Ilene Springer
Lisa Yves

Male Vocalist of the Year
Walter Barlow
Paul Horton
Joe Macey
Bruce Macksoud
Seth Newton
Michael Spaulding
Carlin Tripp
Mark Whitaker

Album of the Year (Group)
Bees Deluxe – Trouble In Paradise
Blocks of Seven – Outta Nowhere
Haunt the House – Jack Rabbit Jones
Dan Lawson Band – Soldiers of Fortune
Rula Bula – Townies
Erin Harpe & The Delta Swingers – Love Whip Blues
The Quins – A Tale of Love and Evil
We Were Astronauts – Artificial Light

Album of the Year (Solo)
Krista Baroni – The Alabaster Girl
Susan Cattaneo – Haunted Heart
Mark Erelli – Milltowns
Jane Fallon – Tangled in a Tree
Dan Masterson – Learn To Live
My Silent Bravery (Matthew Wade) – Diamond From Coal
Jeff Root – The Pig in the Python
Carlin Tripp – Back To The Soil

Video of the Year (Group)
Aurora – “Changing Winds”
Parsonsfield — “Let The Mermaids Flirt With Me”
A Simple Complex – “Felo-de-se”
Singlecast – “Running to You”
Special Guests – “What You Do To Me”
Trophy Wives – “I’m Gonna Make You Famous”
War Games – “Mountains (Acoustic)”
Weld Square – “Rip That Sucker Off”

Video of the Year (Solo)
Boston Catalano – “Stronger”
Sam Chase – “Nebraska”
Jessie Chris – “Chameleon”
Munk Duane -“Some Rivers”
Jenna Lotti – “Red Line Love”
Jilly Martin – “Kiss Somebody Tonight”
Joe Merrick – “Kiss Me Like It’s New Year’s Eve”
Andrew Smith – “Pop”

Band of the Year
Blue Cat Groove
Closer Than We Appear
Didn’t Planet
Elephants of Scotland
The House on Cliff
Karma and the Truth
Most Dangerous Men Alive
The October Accord


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s